Every year at the Annual Conference, Texas ASCD presents awards to a small number of people to honor their hard work and dedication to education. Each award recipient is nominated by you, the Texas ASCD members. Show your appreciation to a valued colleague or a new teacher who is going "above and beyond" in their classroom. Or perhaps you know of a journalist or an organization that is doing exceptional work in reporting on education-related issues. There are so many deserving individuals, but only a few will take home the honor of a Texas ASCD Award at the Annual Conference in October.

The nominatation period for 2016 award recognition has ended.


George H. and Gwyn Brownlee Leadership Award is to recognize and honor a Texas ASCD member who has performed in an exemplary manner. The purpose of this award is to “recognize and honor a Texas ASCD member who has performed instructional, supervisory, and curricular duties and responsibilities consistent with the purpose of the organization in an exemplary manner.  The person has provided continued service and support to Texas ASCD.”  Click here for form.

F. L. Elder Award for Outstanding Reporting in Education - nominate someone that is getting positive information out to the communities and citizens about public education. This person does not have to be a member of Texas ASCD. Click here for form.

Texas Educators Achieving Classroom Honors! (T.E.A.C.H. Award) - nominate an educator who has less than 5 years of classroom experience and has made an impact on students. This person does not have to be a member of Texas ASCD.  Click here for form.


Past Texas ASCD Texas Educators Achieving Classroom Honors (T.E.A.C.H.) Award Winners:

2015 Winners:

Allie Duffy - Round Rock ISD - Elementary
Daniel Nelson - Keller ISD - Secondary 

2014 Winners: 

Sarah Mugavero - Cypress-Fairbanks ISD - Secondary
Karla Reyes - Cypress-Fairbanks ISD - Elementary

2013 Winners:
Rachel Nygrin - Community ISD - Elementary
Jessica Dworaczyk - South San Antonio ISD - Secondary

2012 Winners:
Katrina Avinger - LCISD - Elementary
Tara Haworth - Katy ISD - Secondary

2011 Winners:
Christina Reyes - San Antnio ISD - Elementary
Mary Steen - East Central ISD - Secondary

2010 Winners:
Deborah Cox - Flour Bluff ISD - Elementary
Stephanie Ryon - Coppell ISD - Secondary

2009 Winners:
Lindsay Lisman - Frisco ISD - Elementary
Chelsie Griffiths - Greenville ISD - Secondary
Roland Ruvalcaba - San Antonio ISD - Secondary

2008 Winners:
Caroline Coffin - Round Rock ISD - Elementary
Sergio Roitberg - La Joya ISD - Secondary


1601 Rio Grande, Ste. 451
Austin, Texas 78701

[ google map ]

Tel: (512) 477-8200
Fax: (512) 477-8215
Toll-free: (800) 717-2723

Office Hours
9 a.m. - 5 p.m  CST
Monday - Friday